Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • In order to maintain cooperation in trade and military strategy as well as the acknowledgment of borders amongst the States that once belonged to the USSR (apart from the Baltic States), the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was founded in 1991. It lacks any official political organizations. Members of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) include the Russian Federation, Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, and Tajikistan. The Central Asian Republics (CAR), which include Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, and Tajikistan, are all Asian countries.
  • Since the end of the Soviet Union, ties between India and the CIS region have remained strong and friendly. However, India’s bilateral economic and commercial ties have not developed in tandem with these recently independent nations. 1.2% of India’s total exports and 1.85% of its total imports come from the CIS region. Distance, a language barrier, poor transportation, a lack of proper knowledge about business opportunities, a lack of frequent and direct engagement between commercial organizations, and poor banking facilities in the CIS Countries are the key factors affecting our trading with this region. Over the past several years, a number of efforts have been made in collaboration with the CIS region’s nations to facilitate the promotion of bilateral trade.
  • The Focus CIS Program was introduced by the Commerce and Industry Minister with effect from January 4, 2003, at the same time that the EXIM Policy was announced on March 31, 2003, in light of the potential that the CIS area offers and our negligible presence in that market. The program sought to concentrate on CIS nations, with the first phase placing particular emphasis on seven nations: Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. The Focus: CIS Program was then expanded to include the rest of the CIS region, including the Russian Federation, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, and Moldova, with effect from April 2004 in order to significantly improve India’s trade with CIS nations.
  • In accordance with this program, the Indian government offers support to exporters, EPCs, business chambers, and others so they can travel to these nations, hold trade shows, invite foreign trade delegations to India, and carry out various other market-promotional activities. The activities implemented as part of this program have had a positive reaction from the Indian business sector and are likely to increase bilateral trade even more in the years to come.
The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is what, exactly?

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a group of former Soviet Republics that focuses on regional intergovernmental cooperation in the following areas:

  • Political,
  • Economic,
  • Environmental,
  • Humanitarian,
  • Cultural and Other Issues
Decreasing significance and acceptance

Only a few objectives were ultimately accomplished due to various political and ideological changes. As a result, neither Moldova nor Ukraine took part in security accords. Even the anticipated customs union was not put into effect. Other partners grew increasingly aloof from Russia as its control grew. The commercial interests of the more western CIS republics also changed as a result of the entry of various former Eastern Bloc states to the European Union. Through trade agreements with the EU—the former foe and driving force behind the alliance—Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Belarus, and Ukraine are now closely connected. During the conflict over South Ossetia, Georgia already departed the CIS. The cause for Ukraine’s departure was the annexation of the Crimea.

The establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU), which was formed in 2014 by Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan as an obvious substitute, shows that Russia is currently unable to stop the collapse of the CIS.

Role of CIS
  • The capitals of the Member States host recurring meetings of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) on a rotating basis.
  • The forums include the Council of Heads of State, Council of Prime Ministers, and Council of Foreign Ministers.
  • The 1993 CIS Charter, which established the numerous CIS institutions and their operating procedures, serves as the foundation for the organization’s operations.
  • The objectives and guiding principles of the Commonwealth are included in this Charter together with the rights and obligations of the member nations.
  • The Charter declares that the Member States were autonomous and equal subjects under international law and that the Commonwealth was established on the basis of sovereign equality of all of its members.
  • Additionally, it declares that the Commonwealth of Independent declares will work to foster and deepen inter-ethnic harmony, friendship, trust, and collaboration among its members.

Members of Commonwealth of Independent States

12 States — Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

The headquarters of the Commonwealth of Independent States are in Minsk, Belarus. Moscow, Russia is home to the CIS Executive Committee, another significant CIS agency that manages the organization’s economic issues.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here