Schengen Agreement

What is the Schengen Agreement ?
  • A shared travel region with low internal border checks was eventually established as a result of the Schengen Agreement, a treaty between European countries. The town of Schengen in Luxembourg, where it was signed by representatives of five of the ten then-member states of the European Economic Community (EEC), is where the accord gets its name. The agreement recommended steps, such as greatly decreasing vehicle checks, allowing citizens to freely pass borders, and harmonizing visa procedures, with the goal of gradually abolishing border checks at the shared borders of the signatories.
  • The Schengen Convention, which called for the total elimination of systematic internal border controls and the adoption of a unified visa policy, was added to the initial accord in 1990. As a result, the Schengen Area was established in 1995. For the purposes of international travel, it functions very much like a single state, with no internal border restrictions but external border controls placed on visitors entering and leaving the region.
  • Initially, the EEC and its successor, the European Union (EU), had no official relationship with the Schengen treaties or the rules that were developed as a result of them. The Treaty of Amsterdam, which codified Schengen into EU law while allowing opt-outs for Ireland and the U.K., with the latter having since left the EU, brought them under European Union law in 1999. When they meet the technical conditions, EU member states without an opt-out who have not yet acceded to the Schengen Area are legally required to do so. Several non-EU nations are included in the region since they signed the agreement, despite the fact that it is connected to EU law.
What number of nations are included in the Schengen Agreement?

The Schengen Area currently consists of 27 European nations, with a total population of more than 400 million, and covers an area of 4,312,099 square kilometers (1,664,911 square miles), extending from the Russian border in the east along Estonia, Latvia, and Finland to the coast of Portugal in the west.

Why is Switzerland a party to the Schengen Agreement?

Switzerland, a member of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), along with Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein (other non-EU states within the Schengen Area), has strong economic and social ties to many Schengen states despite not being a member of the European Union. Switzerland joined the Schengen Area after ratifying the accord on October 26, 2004, and kicking up its implementation on December 12, 2008.

What nations in Europe do not participate in the Schengen Agreement?

Notable EU or former EU members who did not join the Schengen Area include Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania, in addition to the U.K. and Ireland. Once the technical prerequisites have been satisfied, these nations are legally required to join. The following nations, which are conventionally regarded as being in Europe but are not members of the EU or the Schengen Zone, are: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, and Ukraine.

What is the unified visa policy for the Schengen Area?

The European Union establishes the uniform visa policy for the Schengen Area, which is applicable to the Schengen Area. It establishes the conditions that others must satisfy when traveling to Schengen states in a same manner while allowing citizens of specified nations to enter the Schengen Area via air, land, or sea without a visa for stays of up to 90 days during a 180-day period.

In addition to being exempt from needing a visa, citizens of EU nations are also lawfully permitted to travel to and live in each other’s countries. However, as stated by EU treaties, this freedom of movement may be restricted in some exceptional circumstances.

What are the prerequisites for obtaining a visa to enter the Schengen Area?

You must provide a few necessary documents as part of the Schengen Visa application process when applying for a visa to enter Europe.

Application materials for a Schengen Visa must include the following:

  • A completed and signed application for a visa,
  • Two freshly taken pictures for passports,
  • A passport that is still valid and has more than three months left on it,
  • Older passports with previously issued visas, if you have any,
  • A trip itinerary, complete with dates, flight numbers, and hotel bookings or other documentation of accommodations.

Additionally, you must provide evidence that you have paid the €80 visa application fee and that you have travel and health insurance that will pay up to €30,000 in medical expenses. A visa application center, embassy, or consulate interview will also be required of you.

How can AXA assist visitors to the nations that are parties to the Schengen Agreement?

By offering you Low Cost Schengen Area travel insurance that satisfies visa requirements for as little as €22 per week—a cost that will cover you for medical expenditures up to €30,000 in all Schengen countries, AXA can assist you during your journey to the Schengen Area. You can proceed with your application because you will have a certificate of insurance immediately.

AXA, the leading provider of Schengen Visa insurance, provides help around-the-clock in addition to additional choices and customized plans. Other coverage options include our Europe Travel insurance ($33/week), which is ideal for frequent travelers, and our Schengen Multi Trip insurance ($328/year), which is also ideal for frequent visitors.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here