Chairman of Rajya Sabha


The constitutional phrase “rajya sabha” is also known as the “house of elders” and is referred to as the “upper house” in the Indian parliament. The highest number of Rajya Sabhas in 2021 is 245. The purpose of this project is to investigate every aspect of the “Rajya sabha” chairperson. Who and how chooses the Rajya Sabah chairman? An “Adjournment of Debate” is what? Describe a bulletin. What unique authority does the Rajya Sabha Chairperson have? For one to fully comprehend the subject of interest, these questions must be addressed.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman

Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu, the 13th and current head of the “house of elders” since 2017, serves as the chairman of the Rajya Sabha. Currently, India’s “ex-officio chairperson” is the vice president.

The Rajya Sabha elects its chairman

In accordance with the electoral college of both chambers of parliament, including “Lok Sabha” and “Rajya Sabha,” as well as the proportional representation system, which means each and every vote, the chairman of “Rajya Sabha” is chosen by all of the members. The Rajya Sabha has a maximum membership of 245 members, of whom 230 are elected by rajya sabha vote and 12 are nominated by the president of India.

Rajya Sabha chairman list

S Radhakrishnan was the first “Rajya Sabha” chairperson and the first “Vice President” of the country upon independence. A “Lawyer Journalist Politician” by the name of Violet Hari Alva served as the first female chairman of the Indian Rajya Sabha. The second chairman of India, Dr. Zakir Husain, held the position from 1962 to 1967. From 1967 until 1969, Shri Varahagir Venkata Giri was the chairman. From 1969 until 1974, Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak presided as chairman. From 1974 until 1979, Shri Basappa Danappa Jatti presided over the organization. Following that, Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma served from 1987 to 1992, Shri M. Hidayatullah from 1979 to 1984, Shri R. Venkataraman from 1984 to 1987, Shri K.R. Narayanan from 1992 to 1997, Shri Krishan Kant from 1997 to 2002, Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat from 2002 to 2007, and Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari from 2007 to 2017. Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu has served as the “Rajya Sabha”‘s chairman since 2017.

Resumption of the Debate

A debate can be authorized to continue in the House of Commons by using the adjournment of debate procedure, which was originally decided by the chambers or parliamentarians. The main goal of this adjournment argument is to alert all of the lawmakers to the grave repercussions of the public’s urgency. Debate about any urgent subject is often adjourned after 30 minutes.


Rajya Sabha’s bulletin is divided into two key sections. The Part-II contains specifics on every issue linked with or relevant to the work of the members of the community or house or the points of view of the chairperson, and the Part-I has a brief summary of the procedures of the two houses. A bulletin is a public notification made by an official body to inform the public of a brief but significant event or matter. A bulletin primarily serves as a brief public announcement to inform the public about an occurrence, event, or other issue.

Rajya Sabha Chairman’s authority

The “Presiding Officer” of the Parliament is occasionally the chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The power to pass any bills rests entirely with the chairman. The Indian constitution’s norms and regulations may be explained by the chairperson. The chief spokesperson for the Indian parliament, on the other hand, is also the chairperson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here